Articulate Training

Apr 13, 2012

Hi!

I am a beginner with Articulate and wanted to know if anyone has attended the articulate trainings through Yukon. I understand the basics but am looking for more foundational training on the software as I am the only user of Articulate at my company. I would be traveling to attend the trainings so I am interested in the value before I invest the money. Any thoughts?

12 Replies
Melanie Sobie

HI John!  Welcome to the Articulate community. (I see you are a fellow cheese-head.) Go Packers!

I haven't attended any of the paid trainings. However, if you are new to Articulate I would recommend buying the book "E-Learning Uncovered: Articulate Studio '09" (by Tanya Coomes, Diane Elkins and Desiree Ward). That will get you past the beginner stage very very quickly - and then you might be ready to take the advanced training courses you would need to travel for later on.

Also, if you are new to Articulate, please be sure to review the information in the tutorials section of this community page. Start with any tutorials and information on how to organize your project files. The Powerpoint  files (*.ppta and *.pptx) MUST be kept on your hard drive, and you must NOT move them unless you use the Articulate Package function.  Also, you will want to review the list of supported Powerpoint animations to see what cannot be used in Articulate.

Good luck and welcome!

Colin Eagles

I attended a Yukon Advanced users course - totally worth the money.  Ron (Price) knew a ton and was totally willing to help us with specific (usually off-topic) questions.  I would completely recommend it as a way to get familiar and comfortable on the fly.

I only went for the Advanced day - but I would recommend the Beginner & Advanced days for a new user.  It's not too complicated and it gives you two days to really dig around in Articulate.

Then I would recommend spending time in the community.

Cheers and (as Melanie said) Welcome!

Eimear O Neill