Section 508

Jun 02, 2012

Here is some of Articulate's current documentation on Section 508 compliance:

http://www.articulate.com/products/storyline-section-508.php
http://www.articulate.com/support/kb_article.php?product=st1&id=te6jcgjd47yv
http://www.articulate.com/products/storyline-section-508-vpat.php

Looks pretty good to me but I'm no expert on this.  Looks "better" than Studio, right?

Questions:  How robust is this Section 508 support with Storyline and how does it compare to other authoring tools?

I know we discussed this a bit during the beta but I can't find those threads.  The issue has also come up at my former company with some training that needs to be done for the government and I'm hoping that Storyline is the best choice for them.

TIA!

31 Replies
Steve Flowers

Hey, Gerry - 

In my experience, Storyline's 508 compliance support is on par with other tools and far better than Presenter. Storyline provides many of the right mechanisms to pull off a universally accessible solution. The real success factor becomes the designer / developer. 508 / ADA / WCAG covers lots more than just vision and hearing disabilities. In fact, those with sight and hearing disabilities are a thin minority of most learner populations. Learning disabilities (including dyslexia), color blindness, motor control and degraded senses are far more prevalent - yet we tend to focus on total vision impairment the most.

One thing I think is missing is a convenient way to caption. The notes field is OK but sometimes you really want to provide folks a way to synchronize the captions with presentation elements. It's not tough to do in tools that support this feature and it's not just for those with a hearing disability. If the narrator annoys me, I would opt for the captioned option and tune out the audio. The notes field doesn't provide the same experience.

Diane Elkins

Here are my thoughts on Storyline and 508.

Yes, it is infinitely more accessible than Studio. 

Pros: