I'm new to instructional design

Oct 01, 2012

Hi board,

Firstly I would just like to say Hi! My name is Toby and I am pretty new to instructional design.

I have recently joined a team and we have a bit of a problem in that sales keeps coming to us and going "Here, analyse this and come back to me with something I can give to the customer as a quote'.

Now I am a big fan of Cathy Moore and the whole action mapping process. So content in this form is not really useful.

I have asked the sales team to come back with the answers to the following questions:

1.       Who is the client?

2.       What’s their goal with this training?

3.       Why are they doing this training?

4.       Whats missing in the current content that makes you want to re-purpose it?

5.       What is the solution we are providing? Full Instructional design? Just make it online?

6.       To what medium are you looking to port the content? Flash-based e-learning? A rewritten document? Some other format?

7.       What are the quality considerations? Ease of navigation? visual appeal? Other factors?

8.       How close or far are the current materials from the end state you are looking for?

So a lot of this will be familiar to you, but I am still stuck. What the hell am I supposed to do with the content to produce something that the sales team can go "This is what it will be and for this much!".

Cheers

7 Replies
Bob S

Hi Toby,

It's simply unprofessional to reccomend a concrete solution without understanding the client's needs, let alone start to execute that solution. An architect wouldn't do it, a doctor wouldn't do it, a financial planner wouldnt do it.... and neither should we.