sample:Using variables to score each response in MultiResponse Qu

Oct 05, 2012

Hi everyone

I’m a newbie as I only bought Storyline (SL) this Monday, so please forgive me if this is not the right place or format for this post. (Let me know)

The problem:

1: I wanted to be able to create 3 Multiple Response questions each with 5 responses. The learner is given a point for each response they answer correctly; therefore a total of 15 points is on offer.

2: At the end of the quiz, the learner can review their answers before finally submitting the answer.

3: If the learner does not reach the pass mark they can retake the test.

The Solution:

I couldn’t do this with the standard Multiple Response question page as it scores by question and not response. And so, I built a sample SL using variables - see attached.

I have given descriptions in the SL file in the Notes tab on each page but I’ll describe some of the main features here.

Features:

Quiz pages: There are 3 quiz pages, 1 question per page with 5 responses each. By using one variable ScoreTotal I can add 1 to the score total for each response the learner gets right. Tip: I created the first quiz page with all the triggers and then duplicated it for question 2 and 3 and the only change I had to make was the actual text for the question and the responses as well as object names in triggers.

ScoreTotal variable: This variable is used to hold the learner’s current score. It is displayed on the Assessment Results page and also to calculate if the learner passed/failed the test.

Review Submit page: After the three questions, the learner goes to this page and has the choice to either review the choices they made (i.e. jumps them back to question 1) or to submit their choices (i.e. jump to the next page, the Assessments Results page).