Mandatory Participation: is it possible?

Nov 26, 2012

So, I am relatively new to the forums and have been reading a lot of the blogs. I have picked up some really fantastic ideas about how to start thinking and creating outside of linear learning modules. The one thing I'm trying to wrap my head around, though, is how do you ensure learners are actually viewing the content? In an ideal world, the e-learning module I created would be so wonderful and engaging that everyone would actually want to view it but the fact of the matter is that I work in the life insurance industry and a lot of the material I'm presenting is pretty boring. Granted, people generally prefer the interactivity and self-paced format of an e-learning module to classroom training (especially with the number of people telecommuting) but I think the ultimate preference is no training at all. Any ideas? (If there are any cool software tricks, I'm using Articulate Storyline)

7 Replies
Nancy Woinoski

Hi Stephen, here's the thing. There are all kinds of ways you can prevent learners from advancing through the material in Storyline until certain conditions are met, but at the end of the day you can't force people to read, watch the video, or listen to a narration if they are not inclined to do so.

I don't think you should lock down the material because people just find creative ways to get around the locks.   I recently completed a project in which my client wanted each screen locked until the learners watch a video. The videos were nicely done but some of them were over 4 minutes long. I could not talk them out of locking the navigation, but found that when viewing the material, people would just minimize the course window and do something else until the video stopped.