Project Management v's Difficult Client! Help!

Apr 18, 2011

Hi everyone - this one's quite an essay, but I'd really appreciate the advice!

I need some help with working out how to manage a large course project.

This is the history and set up of the project development;

I work for a 'company' (on a fixed term contract) - the company looks after the 'client' and project manages the project and I develop the courses on behalf of that company for the client, liaising with the company on timescales etc....

Existing client wants an Induction course, consisting of 12 modules and they want it interactive, not linear.

My company initially agreed this project in a meeting with the client back in November last year.  Basically the client showed them a course they liked and the company said 'yeah we can do that, no problem!"  "You want flash? We can sort that for you!"  BTW.....I'm not a flash developer, neither do they employ any flash developers....

So anyway, I have a meeting with my company, then we and the client have a meeting to set out the requirements.  I express my concern to the company after seeing the course the client had used as an example and mention the 'flash' elements - the company says, "We can use flash components, no problem!"  I reluctantly say 'ok', also confirming that the course would need to be bespoke rather than created with Articulate interactions, because the client had seen a course I'd done using articulate interactions and didn't like the look of it! (So I was thinking along the lines of branching scenarios and hyper linking).  I also confirm that I cannot do the narration which is required because for the size of the course it would need a professional narrator in order to get the quality throughout.