Need Ideas for Hazardous Material Training

Jan 09, 2013

Hi there!

I'm in need of some ideas.  I have to create an online course based on the attached word document for hazardous materials. The attached document is based on government guidelines and all content must be in the training. So, my question is, how can I make this engaging, interactive and semi-fun. I was told it can't be "off the wall" and have a bunch of "that training nonsense" as this is serious material. <<<Sigh>>> Oh and I will eventually have 5 additional modules to create for hazardous materials that go along with this, so if anyone has an idea for a theme, pics, etc. bring 'em on...PLEASE!

I'm using Storyline and I'm still new to the creation of online learning, so how would you go about this?

Thanks!

Robyn

9 Replies
Daniel Brigham

Hi, Robyn:

All instructional designers go through this. We look at the material and say to ourselves, "OK this material, as is, is about as interesting as dusting a houseful of Venetian blinds." We doubt our chose profession and then we get on with making the content more interesting.

Begin by asking questions of it: why is transporting hazardous material important? What good occurs when it's done well? What bad occurs when it's done not well? What problems are currently occurring? I might make that my starting focus. Starting with real problems that your learners know our problems makes the course seem more important.

Scenarios of course will help. Maybe you have a few characters that run throughout the course, and they make different runs carrying different stuff. You could then ask questions about if they are carrying the loads in appropriate ways.