Starting online training

Feb 25, 2013

HI everyone

I'm new to online training but not training! I've been a trainer in my industry for 15 years but want to go online with my courses. I have worked in the Hair and Beauty industry for 20+ years. It is a very fast moving, fashion, creative world - so my training is very much fun and animated based - So having search high and low I have found Articulate and need to get started! I have limited resources and time due to my children who have special needs - but I'm very excited to finally have a way to work from home to support them but at the same time, doing something I love! If I can't get out in the world to train then world will have to come to me!

So here is my questions I need some help with!

I'm looking at all programs (presenter / quiz / storyline etc) - which do I invest in first? would love to get all but i will have to budget and get as I can, what will give me the best and quickest results?

I need to put film into my training as reading and pictures alone will not gain the interest of staff but I'm concerned that it must be fast (no stop starting - they will get bored very quickly)! Any ideas advise on best way to achieve this?

On the animated characters would I be able to Green screen and put myself within the slide? 

Any advise on running an online training company would be greatly appreciated

Thank you for reading - looking forward to hearing your ideas and experience

With kind regards

Caroline

10 Replies
Scott Hewitt

Hi Caroline,

Good luck with the new venture!

You can download trial versions of the software to see what is most suitable for you needs. I'm sure that you will get lots of forum posts as well offering advice as well.