Contract or permenant - What is the market like? (uk)

Mar 04, 2013

Hi everyone.

I've been having a look round the forum and see that you are the experts in this field so i'd love to get some input into a decision im trying to make at the moment.

I'm currently working permanently as an instructional designer for a large company. I have 3 years experience in instructional design (using captivate and storyine, photoshop etc to an advanced level) and a further two years experience in blended training (mostly delivering live classroom training along with creating podcasts and simulations on a moodle site). I'm on a decent salary (over 40k) but im thinking about making my next career move in the next 3-6 months.

Basically im thinking i have two options - to apply for permanant "senor instructional designer" jobs i sometimes see or to work out my notice and start contracting.

I haven't contracted before but the whole moving from project to project lifestyle does appeal to me.

So basically i just wanted to know from the UK instructonal desgners on here what the contractor market is like? Are jobs quite abundant if you have a decent amount of experience? How much are the daily rates? would it be worth leaving my current job for? 

I know it depends on a huge amount of different factors but just a general would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks so much in advance everyone!

7 Replies
Bruce Graham

Hi Jonathan - and welcome to Heroes.

In terms of some facts re freelancing - read here, (end-to-end). I doubt there is a better selection of ID related material in the World.

http://community.articulate.com/forums/t/16452.aspx

I make a very good living as a UK-based ID, and know others that do as well.

As always - my advice is start your business and get a flowing pipeline before resigning - it's so much easier....

Bruce

Jonathan Pewter