how to create a toggle button effect in Articulate Storyline

Jun 24, 2013

Hi,

After going through the tutorial present at the link give below, I would to ask a few questions:

1. Where do you find the two buttons used in the video?
  2. How do we attach/link the buttons with a running video?
  3. can you explain me in detail, how to create the demonstrated effect right from the beginning?

Since, I am a beginner I would really appreciate if I get explanation or step-wise guidance on creating the effect.

http://vivaelearning.com/How-to-create-a-simple-toggle-button-effect-in-Articulate-Storyline-_v964

rgds

chetna 

10 Replies
Bruce Graham

Hi Chetna.

The buttons are created by "Insert > Button" and making the one with round corners into a circle. Alternatively you can just design your own using grouped shapes in Storyline.

All of the "links" are done using Triggers - as shown in the video.

You probably just need to understand Triggers better - see here for Tutorial.

Hope that helps.

Bruce

Rebecca Fleisch Cordeiro

Howdy,

I just created a tutorial here that explains how to create the play/pause button using the selected state as Phil has suggested. Tx, Phil!

Oh, and here's the file to practice with. There are 2 slides: the first one is "done", the second one needs to be done - as demoed in the tutorial.

Rebecca Fleisch Cordeiro

Hi All,

Can anyone comment on this play/pause toggle variable or look at the story I attached (6/24/13) and whether there is a bug in Storyline or whether I missed a step here?

Someone commented the following on the Screenr page:

-------------------------------

Couldn't help but notice that, despite assigning a pause icon to the Selected state on the button, when Previewed, the button retained it's Play icon, even though the text toggled to 'Pause'.

A bug?

-------------------------------