Articulate Users Conference, Anyone?

Jul 19, 2013

As an eLearning developer, I've attended several industry conferences (the big ones) and always been a little disappointed in the sessions offered. My biggest complaint is that the majority (if not all) are either vendors/sponsors pushing a product, the same folks rehashing their mobile learning and HTML5 presentations, or nothing that shows practical application of things (for example, talking about why you should incorporate gamification without showing anyone how to actually do it with the tools we use).

For an upcoming conference, a colleague of mine and myself submitted proposals for sessions to do exactly this (engage in the creative process of how to create exciting storyboards for your eLearning with a dry topic, and creative ways to create interest graphics and animations for your courses on the cheap). Both were rejected by the organizers (for reasons unexplained).

I'm afraid the conference is going to be more of the same again this year (based on what the featured sessions listed are). I know Storyline use is growing, and I've even been asked to consult with some outside users for big companies (recommended to me by internal team members) with tips, tricks, recommendations, etc. because there doesn't seem to be any organized conferences/workshops to address this need. If there are, I'm not aware of them.

So my questions are:

1. Are there any of you that would be interested in attending such a workshop/conference for a day or two with nothing but sessions regarding building better Storyline/Presenter courses?

2. Are there any of you that feel you could run a session such as this, even if it's for a specific type of implementation (like creating a media gallery, using variables to create multi-language presentations, doing certain types of animations, graphic design, creating games, etc.)?

3. Would Articulate be interested in co-sponsoring or organizing an event like this?