How are variables used in elearning?

Jul 06, 2011

What are some advanced ways to make elearning more interactive? Specifically, I'm thinking of variables and logic-based interactions.

I'm not a programmer, but I would like to design more interactive courses that leverage variables to provide more meaningful learning experiences.

Most people I talked to mentioned things like advanced quizzes and feedback. That's helpful, but I have most everything I need in Quizmaker. Or am I missing something?

Do you have any examples or ideas for how such advanced options would be used in elearning?

7 Replies
Gerry Wasiluk

Let me give you an actual example that a few folks use here at 3M and have to do now in Lectora.  They only let folks try to pass a quiz in the LMS three times. 

Each time a quiz is attempted, a developer-created counter variable is raised by one (as variable information can be stored in and retrieved from the LMS, which is what Articulate does for its bookmark). 

Once the counter reaches three, the quiz disappears from view and the course is assigned a "failed" status, which then, in our Saba system, sends the enrollment to the learner's ttranscript as unsuccessful.

Variables, as what we hear will be supported in Articulate Storyline, offer a whole realm of possible uses.   It's pretty exciting for us Articulate users.

Wait till some of the programming types here add to this thread--it ought to be pretty eye opening what variables can do.

Gerry Wasiluk

I could also see this in a course with individual modules where you want to let the learner roam through the course the way they like.  When they reach the end of a module, a variable gets sets for that module. 

When a learners has seen all the courses (and has accumulated all the variables) they can then get to the final quiz or test or whatever is needed for passing.  Or, if you have your own menu of modules, have a check mark appear when they viewed a module.