Button Sets on Master Slides

Mar 28, 2014

I have a set of buttons on a master slide that I have saved as a button set. The triggers on the buttons go to various slides. All I am trying to do is get the selected state to toggle between the buttons, the primary feature of button sets.

When the user clicks on a button, it navigates them to the correct slide but does not change the state of the button to selected.

However if the user then clicks on the button again, it will change the state to selected. This functionality doesn't work, I need the button to change on a single click.

I tried putting a trigger before the jump to slide trigger, to manually change the state of the button to selected and that did not work.

Help please and thank you.

24 Replies
Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Matthew,

I wasn't using them on a slide master, but on an individual slide. Since you've set them up on a slide master, I'd like to see how it looks and what triggers you've used - so if you can share your Storyline file that would be great. You're welcome to share it here in the forums, or if you'd prefer to share it privately I can send you directions on how to do so. 

Matthew White

Just as a follow-up. This issue got escalated to the engineers and the answers is that this can not but done using the button set feature.

There's variable trigger work around which I will attempt to articulate (ha) here.

A slide with four buttons, each button has a normal / hover / selected state.

1 numeric variable named Button with initial value 0.

On master slide, each button exists. 4 triggers that launch when timeline starts which change the state of one of the buttons depending on the value of Button variable.

Each button has two triggers:

1 - change the value of the variable Button to its respective value.

2 - Jump to respective slide.

So when the time starts, the Variable button equals the value need to change the correct button to the selected state.