Tips & Best Practices for Creating ADA/508 Compliant Modules?

May 01, 2014

Hello Everyone,

Can you all share some tips and best practices for creating modules for 508 compliance, such as hearing impaired or other accessibility options, please?

At the moment, all of our modules have both sound and on-screen captions for our learners, but we have not yet created a module to be 100% one or the other, or a branching option to "watch" the module vs. "listening" to it, as we have had several requests for lately...

I know the Storyline Player has a "Notes" section where you can click to view the module transcript, and I know you can also use lightbox slides to access additional information, but I've never used those before... another individual recently told us you can create a "Transcript" option in the Player that's separate from the Notes, but we couldn't figure out how to create it...

What are you using at your companies and for your projects? Thanks for your time!

16 Replies
Nicole Legault

Hi Chrisanna!

Great topic! I personally don't have any experience designing accessible or compliant e-learning, but I found these past forum discussions related to the topic that might hold some helpful information and best practices for you!

Looking forward to hearing from other community members who have experience in this area about what best practices and recommendations they've learned from their experiences. 

Jerson  Campos

Hey Chrisanna,