Elearning storyboards

Aug 31, 2011

Hello all,

The biggest problem I have with building an Elearning course is planning. I understand that it is foolish to jump right in and start building the course slide by slide. However I'm unable to properly utilize storyboards effectively. I've found many storyboard templates and examples, but in almost every case my storyboard just turns into a script. Not being a graphical designer, I'm completely incapable of "building" the visuals for the course in my head.

Storyboard examples I've seen often have things like: "color stripes with relevant picture at the top fade in the out synced with narration. Large downward arrow moves from right to left across screen demonstrating yada yada yada". How do people know what to write here without actually building the course first? I'm unable to understand how people know what graphics/animations they're going to have before building a slide and just experimenting with random images etc.

So how do you build your storyboard? How did you learn to visualize your course and put it into words? what tips do you have for a newcomer?

11 Replies
Jeanette Brooks

Hi Drew - that's a great question! I think you'll find a lot of different opinions out there.

For me personally, since it's so easy to work directly in PowerPoint & Articulate Studio, most of the time I tend to prototype a course directly in the authoring tool, rather than spend a lot of time storyboarding. I usually start out by building just a "roadmap" structure with simple boxes and arrows, to show the course flow...and as long as that looks good to the SMEs or project sponsor, I like to get right into prototyping the slides and the actual course structure.