Filling Graphic Design Gaps

Aug 12, 2014

Hi.

As an instructional designer, I'm finding my work requires more and more graphic design skill. Often, I'm figuring out how to create and edit images myself with Photoshop and Illustrator. I'm also using InDesign to create supplemental job aids and such. I feel like I've come pretty far with what I'm able to create, but I also feel like I'm missing some foundational graphic design knowledge and skills.

Have any of you experienced this dilemma? If so, what resources have you used to fill your graphic design knowledge and skill gaps? Has anyone taken an online "certificate" program (e.g., through Session College or similar) or any individual courses that have been helpful?

Thanks for your input!

Rachel

22 Replies
Tim Slade

Hi Rachel,

Great question! This is something that a lot of people struggle with. Like you, I self-taught myself Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign. I use these tools on a daily basis; however, I've also learned that there's also you can accomplish in PowerPoint alone!

One thing I've learned over the years, is that no amount of training will turn someone into a graphic designer. You either have an "eye" for it or you don't. Assuming that you have a talent for it, you just need to develop it. I still don't think a formalized class will help you with that (just my personal opinion).

I learned to develop my graphic design skills by emulating others. When I'd see something cool, I'd figure how how they created it and do it myself. I'd also suggest taking the time to learn some of the basic rules and best practices regarding the use of color, fonts, shapes, etc. You'll find a ton of resources like that here. The weekly e-learning challenges are also a good way of doing this.

There's no quick fix to becoming a good graphic designer. It take practice and time. Eventually you'll find your style.

Jerson  Campos