Imported wav files do not show up after import

Apr 23, 2013

I have recorded audio files in WAV format and tested them out. They seem to play just fine. So, I'd like to insert each file into my Storyline project. I opened one of my slides, went to the Insert menu, selected Sound and chose Sound from Files. I surfed over to my wav files and selected the one that went with my slide. I get the Importing progress bar and it seems to complete. Then, I look for my audio file in the timeline and... nothing. I look for the speaker icon. Not there. So, I chose Record Microphone. I import it there, and even play it back to make sure it's there. No problem. Then I hit Save and look for my file. It says Saving and then goes away. No audio file is imported. I'm a newbie to Storyline (but a Presenter veteran), so I could be doing something wrong. Any suggestions?

7 Replies
Christine Hendrickson

Welcome to E-Learning Heroes, Barb!

Are your audio files or project files on your local hard drive? If not, that may be what's causing the problem. 

• Work on your local drive (your C: drive). Working on a network drive or a USB drive can cause erratic behavior, including file corruption, loss of audio, and other unexpected behavior. 
  • You should also make sure the directory path to your project files and your published output is less than 260 characters (for example C:\Articulate).
  • Avoid using special characters, accents or symbols in your file names (this includes spaces and underscores).

Additional information regarding "Naming Files, Paths, and Namespaces" in Windows operating systems can be found in the following Microsoft article.

If you are working locally, please try to create a new, blank Storyline project. Does the same thing happen in the new file? If so, it may be a problem with the original file. If not, it may be a problem with the installation of Storyline and it might help to run a quick repair on the software. 

I hope this helps!

Christine

Barb Roland