Difficult content into course

Jun 03, 2014

Hi everyone,

I am new to the elearning world and need to build a course on a difficult topic - grief and bereavement for a charity that helps parents and sick children. Obviously it is a sensitive topic and so want to keep it professional and use images of real people rather than cartoon images. I also need to use real people as part of our branding guidelines. At the moment I have a lot of text and not much idea on how to make it into an engaging course with the restrictions I have. Does anyone have any suggestions or examples of any similar courses?

Many thanks.

Maria

5 Replies
Caroline Lawless

Hi Maria,

I'm not an expert on creating courses for this sensitive topic but you may find my blog post on how to create engaging eLearning content useful for tips on how to structure the course and manage text content: http://www.learnupon.com/how-to-create-engaging-elearning-content/

Caroline

Digital Marketer

LearnUpon.com

Jackie Van Nice

Hi Maria!

My guess is someone here will have examples of similar topics.

My approach in designing any piece is to go for some kind of emotional engagement (regardless of what kind of emotion), and your topic is perfect for eliciting emotion that will be involving and engaging.

My approach would be to present a relevant situation up front that represents the problem your course addresses, using characters and good images (this can be done quite tastefully, of course), and then use those characters and that situation to show the journey from where they are (grief-stricken and devastated), through learning about what they can do, showing them taking specific action, and wrapping up by showing how far they've come, what they learned, and what steps might be next.

Approached this way it could be quite tasteful, helpful, moving, and engaging.

Bob S

Hi Maria,

First... welcome to the community!