Formal e-learning training

Aug 20, 2014

Hi,

I'm relatively new to e-learning design, and I'm basically self-taught, with a little help from Lynda.com on using software. Personally, I'm learner that needs to be taught everything by an expert. I'm interested in growing my skills by taking classes or completing coursework to really understand e-learning, how to design it, how to mange it, project management, etc. I've had trouble finding resources, but I think I'm not looking in the right places.

Does anyone have recommendations for further training in this field?

Any self-taught success stories?

Thanks so much in advance!

4 Replies
Cathy Moore

Jay, if you're interested in face-to-face workshops, I'm giving workshops on scenario design this September and October in Los Angeles, Chicago, and Sydney. The sessions focus on instructional design rather than production, and the techniques apply to any elearning tool as well as to face-to-face scenarios or ones run during a live online session.

The Chicago workshop takes place right after the Online Learning conference, where you'll get a wide range of ideas and techniques.

You might also look at this past discussion on this forum, which lists a ton of courses and certificate programs.

Nicole Legault

Hey Jay!

Welcome to the community and thanks for posting here in the forums! Just out of curiosity, how did you end up in e-learning!? I think it's common for people to "fall into it" by accident and then they kind of stick with it because it's a cool field

So, the topic of newbies who recently got into e-learning, and are looking to sharpen and develop their skills, is one that comes up often here in the community... so just know that you're not alone!

To start, here are some links to past blog posts and forum discussions that you might find helpful: