The Resume feature in Articulate Engage controls how a learner experiences your interaction if it's viewed more than once. You can customize resume behavior so that learners:

  • Start the interaction fresh every time.
  • Start where they left off the last time they visited the interaction.
  • Choose whether to start over or resume where they left off.

To customize the resume behavior, you'll need to open the Player Properties window. Click the first tab on the Engage ribbon (its name corresponds to the type of interaction you're using), and then click Player.

When the Player Properties window appears, click Other.

Find the Resume section of the window, and set your preference by using the On restart drop-down.

  • Prompt to resume: Choose this option if you want to let learners choose whether to resume where they left off or start the interaction from the beginning. The prompt will look something like this:
  • Always resume: Choose this option if you want your interaction to automatically open where the learner left off. Learners won't see a prompt; it'll resume automatically.
  • Never resume: Choose this option if you want your interaction to always open at the beginning, even if the learner previously completed part of the interaction. Learners won't see a prompt.

If you choose Prompt to resume or Always resume, and if you're hosting your content in an LMS, do one of the following:

  • If your LMS supports bookmarking, mark the box labeled When running in LMS, ignore Flash cookie. The LMS will control resume behavior in this scenario.
  • If your LMS doesn't support bookmarking, uncheck When running in LMS, ignore Flash cookie. The Flash cookie will control resume behavior in this scenario.

Changing the Wording on the Resume Prompt

If you've enabled a resume prompt, you can customize what it says. The text comes from your player's text labels. If you need help editing text labels, see Changing the Player's Text Labels.

Saving Your Changes to the Player

If you click OK on the Player Properties window and then save your interaction, Engage saves your player customizations within your interaction file. We recommend that you save your player separately so that you can easily apply the same player customizations to other interactions.

To save your player, click the Current Player button on the Player Properties window and choose Save. Enter a name for the player if you're prompted, and click OK.

For more details about using the Current Player options, see Saving Your Player or Switching to a Different One