Articulate 360 Personal-Will this work?

Aug 05, 2018

Hi,

I'm enrolled in an elearning certificate and I've been learning a lot with the Articulate 360 trial version. I absolutely love it! I've never worked with any authoring tools before starting with Articulate and I'm shocked at how quickly you can learn the various tools and feel accomplished. I enrolled in the certificate program because I've always been interested in instructional design. That said, I'm trying figure out if I should purchase it because it's pretty expensive for me since my primary work role (project management) doesn't require that I design courses. However, I would be willing to purchase it if I knew that I could perhaps volunteer to help my department's ID team with some of their projects. They currently use Storyline 3. Any advice on if I would be able to use Storyline 360 for Storyline 3 projects? Is this a smart investment for a complete novice? I appreciate all feedback.

Thank you!

7 Replies
Benjamin Passons

They are mostly compatible together, but there are a few features in 360 that won't work with SL3 (I think the smart player is one and perhaps the content library). However, from a purely programming perspective they are pretty identical...the real benefit to me with 360 is the ability to publish online and use Review for SME/stakeholder/peer feedback and collaboration. As far as being a smart investment? I can't really say because I really don't know what you have going on in your life and how open your ID team is to offers for help. I know I've purchased software/subscriptions on the side to get ahead of the curve in some areas (Camtasia and Videoscribe come to mind), but those are relatively cheap compared to 360...

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Kandice,