Articulate 360 vs Adapt Builder

Jan 13, 2017

Hi All, 

I have recently joined a new company and we are currently in the process of analysing several different authoring tools to decide which would be best suited to our needs. 

The main two tools we are looking at are Articulate 360 and Adapt Builder. I have been using Storyline for a few years now and I am very familiar with the products. I am less familiar with Adapt.  

What are the main benefits of using Storyline vs using Adapt. Are there any key pieces of functionality in Storyline that are not in Adapt?

5 Replies
Michael Hinze

Comparing Stoyline to Adapt means comparing apples to oranges. Storyline 360 is a desktop application that scales content to various device screens and provides a responsive player. Adapt is a cloud-based authoring tool that lets you create truly responsive content. For a fair comparison, you should look at RISE vs. Adapt Builder. 

Techno10 Lorrain

So, as I understand, Stroryline, in the 360 suite, is not creating true responsive content. It doesn't take advantage of relative positioning and relative scaling. It makes a (kind of) snapshot of your scene and scale it for the appropriate display... Through the player?! 

I haven't testdrive SL360 yet(work overload). I am really excited about this release but have yet to confirm my worries. 

Ulises Musseb

My guess is that you mean comparing Articulate Rise with Adapt. I started playing with both and they both seem pretty good at what they promise to deliver. Adapt has the open source option. My personal complaint is that the cost of 360 doesn't make up for having decentralized, equally powerful, less expensive alternatives. Which is why I use Adapt.

Leonie S

Hi. For choosing between Rise & Adapt, it may come down to how much you want to be able to customise content and how comfortable you are with a bit of coding.