Designing for Accessibility

Apr 23, 2022

I am interested in the best way to get designers/authors of eLearning to understand what should and should not be included in the design of a course meant to be accessible to those individuals who use keyboard navigation and or screen readers. As a developer I am often tasked with making courses accessible when the designer has given no thought to what that means or what it entails on the development side of the project.  

I applaud Articulate for the advances that they have made in recent years in trying to make their tools produce more accessible content. However I still find that there are many instances where I cannot build what a designer asks for without making incredibly complicated slides (or duplicate slides). Even simple things like changing the state of an object to reveal content or displaying a layer with additional content can become a terrible user experience. Solutions that may work for a keyboard navigator may not work well for someone who also has vision impairments. It is very easy for the user to get "lost" among multiple layers.

I have given the designers links to various Articulate articles regarding its capabilities but I find that that isn't enough to convey the challenges of developing accessible content. 

In addition I would like some concrete examples of how developers deal with real world problems like those I have mentioned. One thought I had for the "click to reveal" problem is to add Alt text to the button describing the content that would be shown in a different state. But how would I handle content that needs to be displayed on its own layer? For example if clicking a button starts an animation displayed on a new layer how can I prevent the user Tabbing into the hidden layer before it is active? 

1 Reply
Phil Mayor

An object on the focus order for a screen reader is only active when the layer is shown.