HotSpots

Dec 18, 2019

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Storyline and am just creating my first course.

I have created a menu that navigates to where it should be in the course - all okay here. However, I am using hotspots to label pieces of equipment to show layer information when the user clicks the hotspot. There are about 9 hotspots on one image. I can get back to the main hotspot page with the machine on it by using a back button trigger, but can't figure out how to go back to the main menu or the next slide once all the hotspots have been visited.

Do I need to create a true/false variable to take me either to the next slide or back to the main navigation page once all hotspots have been selected and viewed?

8 Replies
Judy Nollet

Hi, Michelle,

Variables can't take you to the next slide or back to the main page. A variable is merely a container for specified information (for example: True or False, a number, or a piece of text).

Triggers perform actions (for example: jumping to another slide or showing a layer). A trigger may include conditions about when it should run (for example: when a variable equals a designated value or an object reaches a given state).

So here's what you can do for your project:

• Add a button to your base layer with a trigger to return the main navigation page (or, if you prefer, to go to the next slide). Set the initial State of that button to Disabled or Hidden. For now, let's call this the Return button.
  • Create 9 True/False variables, one for each labeled piece of equipment. Set the initial value to False.
  • For each variable, add a trigger to adjust it to True when the learner views the associated info. For example, you could add the trigger to the hotspot, so the variable adjusts when the user clicks the hotspot. Or you could put it on the associated layer, so the variable adjusts when the layer's timeline begins or ends.