Modifying Player Options Error Message (Storyline 1 to 3 Conversion)

Hi All,

My team and I are in the process of converting existing storyline 1 & 2 files to storyline 3. When modifying the player settings (e.g. player, other, change resume feature from "never resume" to "resume on restart"),  of the files that were converted from storyline 1 to 3, we receive an error message. I was hopeful that the changes would take place even though we get the error, but unfortunately no changes were saved. Although the aforementioned example is the only feature we NEED to modify for the client, we can't make any player changes without receiving the error message. On the other hand, we can edit the player settings of the files that have been converted from storyline 2 to storyline 3 successfully, without receiving the error message.

For security reasons, I cannot share a file here but can share one privately. Any advice on how to overcome this issue, is very much appreciated.

16 Replies
Vincent Scoma

Hey Carrie,

Thank you for reaching out! I am sorry that you are hitting this snag when modifying the player settings.

May I ask if you could share a screenshot of the error message you are seeing? 

Also, with your permission, it would be helpful if you could share your course for further troubleshooting. You can use this link here to share your course privately. 

Vincent Scoma

Hey Carrie,

Thank you for letting me know and I am more than happy to help! 

I ran into the same error message you were seeing as well, so I connected with our Support Engineers to dive a bit deeper here. It looks like Anna reached out with some additional next steps! 

Please let me know if you have any additional questions! 

Carrie Tucker


A support engineer reached out to me to help with the issue. I was receiving the articulate storyline error report message as well, and she explained that it was due to the Field Browser Size being blank. Here are the steps she outlined to help me:

1) Click on player

2) Under properties tab, select other

3)  Select the box that says "Launch player in new window ..." to activate dropdown options beside browser size

4) Use the browser size drop down to select "resize browser to fit optimal screen"

5) Deselect Launch player in new window by clicking the corresponding box (optional)

6) Go to On Restart and use the drop down arrow to select "prompt to resume" or "always resume"

7) Click OK at the bottom right hand of the player and save your changes

8) Reopen the player to make sure the changes were made

This cleared it right up! Hope it works for you as well.



Leslie McKerchie

Hi Chris,

Thanks for reaching out and letting us know that you are running into a similar problem.

The reporting option in the error message report shares this data with our development team but does not automatically create a support case for us to reply and/or work directly with you.

Curious if the issue happens in any course you are working on or just this particular one?

If you cannot re-create the issue in a new course, I would advise to import the file into a new one and proceed.

If it's happening in any/all files, you should conduct a repair of your software.

If you're still having difficulty, then with your permission, I'd like you to share your project file with our support engineers to investigate what's happening. You can share it privately by uploading it here. It will be deleted when troubleshooting is complete.

Chris Clark

It appears that we removed Flash from our new images. Our IT team is working on a way to add it back in. Considering that Flash is supposed to experience "end of life" in 2020, I'm assuming there are plans to adapt. Once we have Flash, I will try again, but cannot get it to work as of now. thanks for the help. 

Vincent Scoma

Hey Shani,

Thank you for reaching out and I am sorry that you are experiencing a similar issue. 

Does this appear to be happening for every course? If so, I would recommend trying a simple repair to see if that helps resolve the issue. 

If you need our help to take a look at your file, we're always more than happy to help! You can share files in this thread here or you’re always welcome to privately share with our Support Engineers. We'll let you know our findings and will delete it after having a closer look.