Need help with variables

Jan 16, 2015

I have a main homepage with 5 links on it. When the user clicks that link, they are taken to another scene. (Link 1- take user to link 1 scene to view content). I want to make a checkmark beside the link button on the main homepage once the user has viewed ALL content under that scene. But I know I need a variable of some sort to do that. Any help at all is appreciated. I'm new to Storyline.

Thanks!

7 Replies
Brett Rockwood

Hi Jodi. This isn't that hard to do; you need a few variables and states to do it.

First create a visited state for your menu buttons with a check marks for each. Then create a True/False variable for each scene with the defaults as False. Next go to the last slide of each scene and set a trigger on the Next button (or any button you want that returns the user to the menu) to change the corresponding variable to True. Finally go back to your menu slide and set triggers that change the state of your menu buttons to visited "when the timeline begins" if the corresponding variable is True.

Does this make sense to you?

Brett Rockwood

Emily, that's true but that only shows that the person "went" to a section not that they "completed" it. To show that they completed/finished a section I believe you'll need to use a varible on the last slide of each section.

It's true that you can use the built in Visited state but they don't come with the checkmark (if I remember... I don't have SL open at the moment.).

Emily Ruby

Hello Brett!