NOT BY CHOICE: S1 TO S2 -- REVERSION NEEDED

My disclaimer: This is not a rant!!!

I installed S2 Trial, and was not advised that any S1 file I worked on in S1 would automatically be upgraded to S2. I need my file to  be in S1. My goal is not to rebuild a 3-hour program, coding, making buttons, characters, animations, etc.  I downloaded the trial version to see the difference.  I used it to develop a 4-slide project (something that I could easily redo).  The 3-hour program was already complete. I was given an extension on the trial, but this does not resolve my issue of being able to revert my file back to S1. PLEASE, PLEASE let me know if I am missing something. I have read many post that said I should be able to "save as", however, this option is not been given from S2, nor can I save the S2 to S1.  I have a few tweaks I need to correct, but cannot without rewriting the entire project since it is in S2 and I do not own S2. I am up against a deadline, not to mention 7days left on the trial (not enough time to complete). I have never used a trial that leaves me with the only option to purchase, although it interferes with a program that I had on my system. If I am unable to revert my project. I believe this is an alert that should be made very clear to the user. Articulate had to know this would be a problem. I opened and closed my project in S1, but as you know no longer have the option.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8sHb9G_Lc9EOFVxM2dOZWcycEE

1 Reply
Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Sharria,

I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you've run into using the trial of Storyline 2. It sounds like you may have reached out to our Support team in regards to extending your trial, but I did want to clarify a few things here in case they did not share them with you or for others who come across this thread. 

When you open a file created in Storyline 1, in Storyline 2 you would be presented with a message that it'll upgrade your file and create a back up copy that you could use in Storyline 1. It would look like the message below. 

The backup copy is created based on the fact that  upgraded projects aren't backward compatible, the backup copy of the original project file will be in the same folder in case you ever need to go back to Storyline 1. You'll find further documentation of this here. So not every project that you created will turn into a Storyline 2 project, only those that you open in Storyline 2. You will see the icon change to that of Storyline 2, as by default projects will look to open in the latest version of Storyline - but you can follow the steps here to ensure a Storyline 1 project opens in Storyline 1. 

There is not a way to turn your Storyline 2 project back into an accessible element in Storyline 1, so at this time you'll need to look at redoing the work in the back up copy or finish it in Storyline 2 while you're in the trial and then publish from there. 

If I'm understanding your post, you're looking for this to be more clearly documented before upgrading the project? I will share this thread and feedback with our product team, and you're also always welcome to share your thoughts directly in the form of a feature request. 

I hope that helps clarify some of the behavior and difficulties you ran into, and if you have additional questions feel free to let us know here or reach out to our Support team again here.