Preview not working

Dec 28, 2015

Help!  I am new to Storyline and I am trying to preview a file that I imported from PowerPoint.  Preview is not working; it just displays a blank screen.  I opened other files that previously worked and preview is not working on any of them.  The files are on my C: drive, I have uninstalled and reinstalled Storyline on my computer but the problem still persists.  Can anyone help?

42 Replies
alan saunders

We're also experiencing this issue at my organization. Some computers can display the preview, while others can't. We're all running the same SL2 build and all receive the same Windows 7 updates, so, it's strange that only certain computers are affected. On top of not being able to preview a course, when they go into the Player menu (to edit menu items, player colors, etc), the player won't render there either, it shows up as the same blank box. 

Hopefully this gets resolved soon! We've tried numerous methods of installing/uninstalling/system restarts/etc with no luck.

EDIT - after comparing our update histories, it definitely seems to have something to do with that. The most recent update they received actually failed on my machine, hence, why I am still able to preview courses/edit the player.

Sighle Denier

I am also experiencing this problem on a Windows 7 (SP1). I've also uninstalled, rebooted, re-downloaded storyline 2 trial, reinput serial # and no luck.

This also stopped working for us today around the same time. Norton 360 is my anti-virus and it is up to date. I tried disabling the firewall and auto-protect for 15 minutes and that didn't help either. This is also only happening on one machine currently.

Publish/Review Content does continue to work. This is a temporary workaround. 

Tim Neill