Software Simulations

Dec 03, 2015

Hello all,

I have been a long time user of Captivate (last version used 8.0) to build and produce technical training. I have used Studio 9 and SL1 previously for non- technical content and both have been great tools. I've been using SL2 for the last two months. Currently, I am building a tutorial with four modules on Oracle software. I have scoured the blogs and have not found one true software simulation that shows a step by step procedure. Am not interested in using screenshots with markers to teach software (I work at a financial institution where demos and practice is key). I find there are many limitations with using SL2. Here's some of the situations I've encountered. I had to alter most of the captions to provide proper instruction. The view mode does not stop if you have inserted  additional text captions that the learner needs to read (there isn't enough time). Therefore, I inserted hotspots/triggers and removed the "pre-produced" animation which automatically advances the slide.  I ended up customizing the view mode and taking a hybrid approach View/Try it. This way the learner has time to read the captions and an opportunity to be engaged at the same time. This may have not been as much of an issue if there was audio, however without audio less development time is needed and it's easier to update in the future. When you need to customize all of the screens to add zooming (not to mention you cannot copy and paste the zoom from one screen to another for consistency purposes), it's  time consuming.  Using the Fine Tuning doesn't always work when you need to find a "clean capture" point. It's really not a single screenshot, it's a video capture within a video capture. I rerecorded the sequence and made sure I moved through the steps slower to allow for enough video to fine tune. Truly, there has been a lot of rework and I'd might as well have started with a blank canvas using Captivate. SL2 is supposed to be a rapid buildi