Storyline 2 Save file to locally shared folder - restricted rights

Hi, 

On Storyline 2, when saving a project directly to a local shared folder, the file is saved without inheriting the parent folder permissions, so when a user it trying to access the shared folder to copy the file, the access is denied.

Note: when saving to a local folder which is not shared and copying it manually to the shared folder, users are able to copy the file from the shared folder.

 

Please advise.

5 Replies
Christie Pollick

Hi, Benny, and welcome to the community! I want to be clear on the issue you are having, but first, could you try a few things for me? Please make sure you are working locally as described here, and you may want to try importing the file into a new file. If you are still having issues, you might want to try to repair Storyline. Also, could you please ensure that you are utilizing the most recent SL2 Update? Info on Update 5 can be found here

s s

Hi Christie, Thanks! and what a supportive community it is!

The folder we are working on is C:\AllProjects and this folder is shared.
In your comment at the first "here" hyperlink page, its mentioned: 


"If you need to place a copy of your project on a network drive or a USB drive for backup or versioning purposes, it's fine to do that after you've closed Storyline."

1. Does the local folder which is shared (C:\AllProjects) also counts as a network drive from Storyline's perspective?

1a. Does that mean my users will need to save a file on any non-shared folder and then copy it to C:\AllProjects manually? (This workaround works currently)

2. if that's the case, is it possible to kindly have it patched in the next update? its a downgrade in my customer's experience from Storyline 1 as it didn't faced the same issue.
 
We are utilizing the latest Storyline 2 Update 5.

Ashley Terwilliger

Hi Benny, 

Yes, the shared folder even though it's installed locally will be considered a network drive as it's syncing and updating files there based on other users accessing them. 

If you need to collaborate with colleagues you'll want to use a method such as the one documented here, which it sounds like the workaround you're currently using adheres to that. 

I don't know if this would be considered in a future update, as it's not a bug - but working as designed. You're welcome to share your thoughts on this set up and behavior in the form of a feature request.