Storyline 360 Multiple layers, each with an audio. I want to make sure learner listens to all audios completely

May 10, 2018

I've reviewed many related forums to the problem I am having and still can't find a resolution. I am very new to Storyline but have a background in LMS development. Here's the problem.

I have a Course Topics slide with a base and 8 layers. The base layer has the instructions for the slide. Each of the 8 other layers have an audio that I want the learner to listen through to the end - all 8 - before they can progress to the next slide. I don't have the problem of the audios playing at the same time if the user clicks three or four. If the user clicks one without listening to it through the end and then clicks another, the first stops as it should.

The problem is, I can quickly click all 8 buttons (which turn green after clicked) real quick - without completely listening to each of them - and then the "next" button appears.

I want to force the learner to listen to each audio on all 8 layers to completion before the next button appears. Please help.

13 Replies
Louise Lindop

Hi Karla

I answered this post but doesn't seem to have come up, so will try again. I may have posted elsewhere by accident (wouldn't be the first time!).

Anyway, I would do this by turning your buttons to green at the end of the timeline on each layer, rather than when they click the button, and at the same time setting a variable so I can check when all layers have been listened to in full.

I have mocked up and attached and example which seems to work well and do what you required. It only have 4 layers, but obviously the same principle would apply to 8.

Hope this is of some help.

Louise

Karla Guleserian