Text Entry Field problem

Sep 22, 2015

Hi guys!

I'm creating simulator of how to fill correct the forms and to make it more realistic I will use field markings. 
As you can see in my .story file I took text entry field and used expanded spacing that text fits markings. But in preview you can find that text is different from my settings and most important when you start typing text doesn't have features of expanded spacing.

Why? Why this problem is still existing in SL2?

Thanks for any help!



15 Replies
Christie Pollick

Hi, Alexi -- Thanks for your patience while I checked out your file. I saw the same behavior you described in Preview and also in the SCORM Cloud after publishing. It appears that everything is set up correctly, so for additional input, I have created and submitted a ticket on your behalf with our Support Staff (00649023). One of our Support Engineers will review your file and be in touch shortly via email. I plan to follow along with their progress and will share relevant updates here in the thread for others who may be experiencing a similar issue. :)

Christie Pollick

Hello - Just wanted to share an update per Alexi's ticket in with our Support Team. The following was determined:

"Thank you for uploading your project file(s). We have reviewed your project file(s) and we were able to duplicate your issue. I have submitted your case to our Quality Assurance team for their review. Unfortunately, I was unable to determine a workaround. I cannot offer a time frame for when or if this issue will be resolved but I will keep you posted."

Any additional updates received will be shared here in the thread, and thanks for your patience! 

Leslie McKerchie

Hello Stacy!

Sorry to hear that you've run into a similar issue. Taking a peek, it does look like this is still an open issue with our team.

It's been a while since this was brought up and I can assure you that we are doing a better job now of prioritizing issues based on user impact.

Here is some information on how we define bugs and how we tackle them when they occur.

Do you have a .story file that we can take a look at? I'd be happy to take a look and freshen up this report to get it back on the radar.

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Ondrej,

Thanks for reaching out here - the two issues mentioned here are:

  • Line spacing is not respected while a user enters text in a date entry field
  •  Text entry that is smaller than 60 px high doesn't wrap or create a scrollbar 

Does that match what you're running into? They are both still with our team to investigate in Storyline 3 and Storyline 360. We'll post an update in this discussion, and the other one you've responded in as soon as we can. 

If neither of those issues matches what you're seeing, let me know. I'd want to take a look at your .story file than to do some additional testing! 

Leslie McKerchie

Hi Ondřej,

Thanks for sharing some additional details along with an image.

It looks like you are having an issue with the character spacing vs. line spacing, is that correct?

Here's what I see during a quick test:

What version of Storyline 360 are you currently using?

If you could share your sample .story file, that would be helpful.

My sample file is attached.

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Ondřej,

Are you looking for Storyline to keep the spacing once you start entering in text? It won't keep spaces between your characters as that's based on the user input to add text into the entry field. 

Let me know if I'm misunderstanding, and as Leslie shared with your permission, we'd like to take a look at your project file to investigate what's happening. You can share it publicly here, or send it to me privately by uploading it here. 

I’ll delete it when I’m done troubleshooting. 

This discussion is closed. You can start a new discussion or contact Articulate Support.