Timelines

Jul 22, 2013

Hello there! I am new to articulate storyline and am trying it out as a replacement for flash. One thing that is mystifying me/driving me crazy are the elements on a slide timeline always being visible on the stage, even when the element should be invisible due to it's own timeline being placed before or after where the playbackhead is currently located.

For example: I have a piece of text that pops on screen for a second, then pops off. Its timeline's length is reflected as a small block in my main slide timeline. When I'm previewing the slide it pops on and off as it should, but when I'm working on the slide, the text is always visible, no matter where I am in the main slide timeline  - The only way I can see to hide it is to manually  turn the element layer's visibility off. It is extremely annoying, and slows down my workflow to have to manually turn elements on and off just so I can unclutter the screen enough to see what I'm trying to work on. Am I missing some basic setting that will make the elements visibility preview as they should in production mode?

9 Replies
Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Bob and welcome to Heroes! 

If you have a number of items on one slide but don't want to see them all at once while you're working, have you thought about splitting some of them into layers within the slide? This would allow you to work on those items individually and be less visually distracting when you're working on the main slide. 

Since you're new to Storyline, you may want to review this article that deals with adding and editing layers. Once you set up the layers you need, you'll then need to determine what triggers each layer, and another article that deals with that is here. 

Hope that helps you out and makes your screen less cluttered!

bob hawley

I appreciate your reply Ashley!