Video

Jun 29, 2012

I am new to Storyline and not sure if this is even possible. I have a continuous playing video, but would like for the Outline to showvarious timestampsalong with a brief description when it is published. This way the user can quickly jump to what is important to them. Is there anyway to make this happen?

11 Replies
Gerry Wasiluk

Hmm, that's a challenge. The only triggers we have so far for media is play, stop, and pause. And no jump to position X on the timeline or workaround that I can remember.

To appear in the outline, dividing the video up among several slides is probably best. The time to move from slide to slide should be minimal. And the slides can all play automatically so it looks like one continuous video.

Another option is put the complete video on the base slide and then add something like buttons underneath it that when clicked move to certain positions in the video.

For each position you need, add a layer to the slide. Put the same video on the layer and trim it to start at the point you need. Make the layers all pause the base layer. Then set the revisiting properties to set to initial state.

Gerry Wasiluk

No problem. Let us know if it is successful for you.

One thing--you can break up the video simply in Storyline itself (it's not a full-blown video editor but you can do some simple things). Copy the slide with the full video on it and then on the copy, use the trim feature in the video editor to start off deeper into the video.

Then "lather, rinse and repeat" as often as you need.

Katie Weaver