52 Replies
Jeffrey Martin

Sorry for this being studio issue in the wrong thread

I have attached a simple test package if you publish this then open the presentation.html with IE and then Chrome you will see

1) outline of 1pt and less not visible in Chrome

2) the third slide I have rotated the arrows 180 degrees and then applied to each the wipe from left animation and you will see that in IE then wipe starts from the left (ie it accounts for the rotation) and the Chrome view the wipe starts from the right (ie is ignores the rotation I have performed)

This also impacts other wipe types and we are currently assessing other differences between Chrome and IE but have yet to do detailed tests of other interactions to resolve / replicate but we are noting that a video added into Quizmaker plays in IE but not in Chrome.

We are really wondering if you have a list of interactions that have issues in Chrome

Leslie McKerchie

Thanks for sharing your file J.

We do not have a public list.

I took a look at your file and tested in IE and Chrome. 

  1. I'm seeing the outline in both browsers.
  2. The wipe looks the same in both browsers as well.

Here is my recording.

What version of IE and Chrome are you using?

The file you shared indicated that you were publishing for LMS. Could you upload your content in SCORM Cloud (that's where my content was uploaded) and see if you experience the same behavior or if the issue is limited to your LMS? You can even try my published output here if that's easier.

Chris Roetzer

Lot's of discussion on this issue beginning 3 years ago and I just hit the wipe-animation-doesn't-work wall... I convinced some of my peer designers to rethink some interactions to include wipe animations on hover states as I used several of them in a new course I've finished only to find the wipes acting as 'appear' which kills the whole effect of the "menu drop down" I was going for in my course. IE is the default browser for our employees globally so suggesting another browser for a one-off isn't an option. Has this been resolved?

Leslie McKerchie

Hi Chris!

Looks like there are many different scenarios described in this thread, so I'd like to first ask what version of Storyline are you using?

You mentioned IE, so I did want to mention that certain animations and transitions, including Wipe, do not work in HTML5 courses in IE or Edge. You can read more in this article.

Chris Roetzer

Hi Leslie, we use storyline 2. Storyline 360 will be used in the future. At present, will use HTML5 at times for SME reviews when course content is in a share drive folder on the network as opposed to published within the PeopleSoft LMS. Sometimes we put course content out on a sharepoint page for SME review as well.

So this problem was encountered during SME review of course content using the html5 saved on a shared drive. We share the HTML five file because they can no longer review regular HTML files on a shared drive Due to that annoying security restriction that windows implemented perhaps a year or more ago.

When I published to our PeopleSoft LMS however, our LMS courses use the standard HTML file and the wipe animation works fine there, which, in the end, is what I want. So at least for now, the issue won’t impact learners but as we move into mobile devices in the future for our audience, I still have a concern.

Sent from my iPhone

Alyssa Gomez

Hi Louise!

Storyline 360 and Storyline 3 animations like Wipe and Random Bars won’t work when you view HTML5 courses in Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge, since those browsers are lagging behind in HTML5 support. You can read more about that in this article!

You can work around that limitation by:

    • Viewing the Flash version of your course instead.
    • Using a different animation or transition in your Storyline course.
    • Using a different web browser, such as Google Chrome or Firefox.
Jeffrey Martin

Have you tried chrome or ie? We are finding more sensitivity between the browsers

Also You really need to track the (I am assuming you are using studio 360) the version of presenter of Aeschylus published content as errors are fixed and new ones appear with each release. All our client issues now relate to studio bugs and not content. We have taken the decision to do strong UAT testing of each new Studio release before we use it in both chrome end ie so we identify bugs before development starts on new content- major resource headache

Release notes are not detailed enough to really support this and you cannot reinstall earlier versions which limits a structured approach

Sent from my iPad

Barry Hollembeak

I just tried it on IE and the animation worked. Must be an Edge issue? Now I have to get my clients and their thousands of users to drop Edge and use IE or Chrome. I would rather have this issue resolved on my end instead of trying to change their corporate policies. When I published the Storyline I selected "Flash with HTML5 fallback" Is there another way to publish that may work with Edge? Thanks

Jeffrey Martin

Sorry my comments related to Studio 360 I was responding on a mobile with not good access to the thread.  But it seems to be an Edge issue - we gave up with supporting Edge as too many issues and we had to focus - we did look at the usage of our training (we have our own dedicated server) and utilities on this  found Chrome and IE accounted for 99% of all access.  But if it is a corporate policy........

It would be good if articulate were to publish known issues and give more visibility to bug reports in the software as we spend 25% of our time having to debug/R&D our work and re-issue and the vast majority of the issues we find are actually issues with the Articulate software which we would find easier to accept if we had visibility of the known issues.


Good luck

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Barry,

It sounds like you were using some of the masking animations, and if so, those won't work in Edge or IE11 based on the browsers lack of support. Take a look at this article for more information. 


Hi Jeffrey,

I'd hate for you to spend time digging into these, and if you run into a roadblock please don't hesitate to reach out! We never want you to spend hours troubleshooting a problem alone-that's why our team is here to help. You can connect with our support team 24/7 here. 

Jeffrey Martin

Appreciate your offer but you show a bit of an innocence to the way clients depend and use your software.   It would be appreciated if you were to share the following which shows how your clients end up expending 25%+ of their efforts handling bugs within the software - visibility to bugs, reporting, status and greater release documentation would help reduce this by allowing us to better manage workarounds etc.


This explains the life of your clients - I have written this whilst waiting for one of the packages to publish....

This is our life = we have over 30 hours of learning published in 60 SCORM packages each of which takes 10 to 20 minutes to publish and contain 3 quizzes in each.  One error we have discovered is that when you use branching in a quiz and there are multiple quizzes in a package the out of value is not reset between quizzes.  This took us 5 days to isolate as an issue such that we could replicate the error and a couple of days to then document this, build a test package and test cases to prove it.  We are now 10 days into your support team seeking to confirm this is a bug.  We have in this time had communications with them and given them the SCORM file and Package of the test files and the test scripts and UAT descriptions plus a video of the error.  All 60 SCORM packages we use with clients (students) use this type of branching an multiple quizzes and the students return to college in early Sept. 


Our only solution is to develop a workaround and to incorporate this is 40+ quizzes, which we then publish and QA.  We then have to upload this on to the LMS and QA that and then perform UAT testing on all of the courses in 2 web browsers.

When you release a fix for this bug (assuming it is proven to be a bug – which I am confident of) we will then have to UAT test the new version of Articulate – we insist now for QA that all packages in a course are published using the same Articulate release version to ease the testing and QA/UAT.  Having done that we will then have to put back the workaround to the 40+ quizzes and then republish and then LMS etc etc.

As you can see from the above the impact of a bug within the Articulate publishing is not limited to reporting a possible bug but goes to the heart of many of your clients processes and own QA work which they have in place with their clients.

Broderick Lemke

I do want to second that our office has a person who is on the updated version of Storyline and reads these forums every morning to watch for bugs to ensure we aren't going to upgrade to a new version with anything that would impede our workflow after being bitten in the past by that bug (That person is me by the way). Just wanted to second that we have to take a lot of time to do QA work here and I've definitely had to help colleagues with issues that I've dug up in support forums here. I definitely appreciate these forums though and for a large majority of issues they fix things. Thanks. 

Carrie Eaton

Was there a final answer/fix here because I'm using the 360 trial and having the same issue. Simple wipe animation works in the preview but not when I publish to CD which is what I'm using for testing right  now. I am planning on using 360 for a series of nine courses and need to know if there are some animations that I should stay away from! 

Alyssa Gomez

Hi Carrie! Here's a bit more information on what Phil shared: Some HTML5 Animations and Transitions Don't Work in Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge.

The wipe animation, as well as other "masking" animations, won’t work when you view HTML5 courses in Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge. They also won't work in CD-published output since it relies on Internet Explorer.

Let me know if you have other questions about that!

Crystal Horn

Hello Jesper. Just a quick update: We fixed the issue where wipe animations were causing the thickness of the line to change. 

Install the latest Storyline 360 update to take advantage of all the recent features and fixes. Here's how.

If the problem happens again, please record a Peek 360 screencast for me, and I'll be happy to help!