Do i need an authoring tool?

May 03, 2016

Hallo.

I am a web developer.

I could create a course by using powerpoint, a program that creates ANIgifs in order to make the slides look pretty, a program that captures screen to convert the slide presentation into video and my html/css skills to create quizzes.

Why do i need an authoring tool?Is there something extra that it can provide to an elearning project that i dont get it?

5 Replies
Crystal Horn
Bob S

Ioannnis,

Perhaps your answer lies in the word "tool"...   

Following your logic, there is nothing you can do with a cordless drill that you couldn't do with a sharp rock.... eventually.   The right tool makes things easier, cleaner, more consistent, and compatible with industry standards so your content can be deployed more ways and updated more easily.  So.... need is a relative term. If your heart is set on hand coding, then go for it!.  But remember the compromises involved.

Ioannis Dourvas

thank u all for your answers.

Let me be a bit more specific so you can comment and maybe spare an advice.

I am totally new in elearning. I thought i could start a project.

The first idea was to built (we are a group of four) a platform that can host eleraning lessons that we could built ourshelves.

we are now searching the field of elearning to find ideas about how to accomplish all that.

We know we can built elearning video lessons that are attractive by using the compilation of software i mentioned before(powepoint etc).

The industry standards you mentioned are SCORM or TIN CAN? i understand that are the way to communicate the lessons with the platform. We will built the platform. The way we can get info from our lessons is not a big deal regarding the coding required

what is your opinion about that project. Do you consider it can be done or do you thing that we should consider to buy an LMS or a authoring tool like storyline or both and why?

Bob S