Getting started

Jan 27, 2017

Hi all,

Newbie here!

I wanted to ask if you could recommend any particular qualifications or courses to get started as an Instructional Designer and Content Developer?

I am currently working as a L&D consultant and would like to make the transition into tech based learning largely because of the rise of blended learning.

I have completed a basic course on Adobe Captivate and currently compile story boards, course design requests and basic structuring of projects on Captivate, as well as use Animation tools such as Animoto, Animaker and Powtoons. I would like to make my content more interactive and engaging and would like some level of formal qualification or industry recognised credentials to move into this sector as a career option.

So, is there any advice you could offer? How did you get into your roles? Any suggestions or recommendations?

Thanks and I look forward to hearing your thoughts...

D

11 Replies
Benjamin Wilker

Welcome to the community!  I am glad you are getting excited about transitioning in to the eLearning world.

I have a few recommendations that will make your life a lot easier in changing over.  First is try not to limit yourself when it comes to creativity.  When it comes to eLearning for End-Users (Learners) the more interactive and fun you can make it, the more successful your courses will be.  Second take advantage of everything you can find here in the community.  There are lots of FREE resources at your fingertips with more that comes out daily.