Looking for a Mentor

Nov 14, 2016

Hello all, My name is Lili, based in London. I'm new to the field of instructional design/eLearning. My day job is an L&D coordinator (home-based). I now want to move into the field of digital learning. I don't get any opportunities in my current workplace to learn/get experience.

I'm amazed by the great work of the experts in this field. So, I took the initial step in designing a few EH Weekly Challenges and familiar with the tools. 
Now, I'm looking for a mentor to learn/get expert advice and point me in the right direction as I cannot figure out the right direction to reach my future career. 

Many thanks

6 Replies
Lili Seram

Thanks Matthew, that sounds great.

But the problem I'm having is, not knowing what I should know and having confidence to do things. There's so much information and support out there but I'm struggling.

I think I started it right. I first researched for what qualifications, experience and skills needed for a Digital Learning person. I ended up with a long list of things to learn like HTML5, CSS, JavaScript, PHP and UX design and eLearning and digital platform. I'm really unsure if should be learning all these things. I already have experience in using digital platform (Totara LMS) administering the platform and creating blended learning courses etc.

Since, I haven't really designed any eLearning modules, I started first attending/watching free webinars, subscribed to LinkedIn groups, newsletters etc to learn more and get insights.

Then I started designing things for weekly Challenges to familiar with the tool. But I can see people using JavaScript and HTML5 to design courses, so now I'm confuse if I should learn those as well.