Master Slides

Apr 06, 2011

I have a question about Powerpoint 2007. I am using Master Slides for several modules, that are individual modules (so like 7 files), all using the same design. If I change or add something to one of the modules Master Slides, what is the best way to have the change apply to all modules, without having to individually go into each Master Slide area and make the change?.I did create a theme that I am using over and over, however, I don't know if a theme affects changes to all Master Slides.  I don't really have the option to use a Slide Library, since I don't have Sharepoint (or that seems to be what it is looking for.)

I looked out on the web and could not find a real answer, regarding Master Slide reuse.

7 Replies
Louise Ward

I'm not a total expert on Master Slides, but when I need to use the same background/template on multiple slides, I just createa Master slide (within 'View' > 'Master Slide') and then apply that master to each of my slides as I create them using the 'Layout' option in the 'Home' tab. 

[You can highlight all your slides in the 'Slides' pane to the left, select the master layout from 'Layout' and that will apply the master design to all slides within your project.]

Then whatever you need to change on that single 'Master' slide should then display on every slide within the project where that layout has been selected.

I 'hope' that helps...

David Anderson

Hi April,

With your Slide Masters, are you create 7 "Masters" or "Slide Layouts"? Yeah, it gets confusing but most times, a single Slide Master with multiple Slide Layouts is used.

Think of Slide Master as the slide that contains the persistent objects across the entire slide:background graphic for example.

Slide Layouts are the "children" of the Slide Master and each can have its own properties--font styles, layout designs, but would share the same background image used in their parent Slide Master.