LMS Timeout Pop Up for Courses
User experience is very important to us. However, there are times when we know that the learner has walked away from an online course and returns a few hours later. During that time, the LMS has timed out and the connection from the course to the LMS is not present.
Articulate courses (Rise, Articulate, Storyline, etc) are still allowing the learner to continue the course without knowing that the LMS has timed out.
- At each slide, the course pings the LMS to make sure there is a connection
- If there is a connection, bookmarking is sent to the LMS
- If there is no connection, a pop up message come up. "You are not connected to your LMS. You are required to log into your LMS and reopen the course. If the issue persists, please contact your LMS Adminstrator."
- Once the user clicks on OK on the message box, it will close the course.
- In addition, the course will not allow the user to move to the next slide. It will also show a blank page or instead of #3 (pop up message) above, it can display the message on a default page that has no navigation. We would not want the user to return to this page though. It should go to the previously bookmarked page.