Narration Scripts

Jun 14, 2019

Is anyone aware of plans to enhance narration scripts in the 360 product suite? There is no standard text editor for the scripts. Review 360 doesn't offer script comments or editing. This has a huge impact for quality assurance for organizations where scripts must be reviewed by a broad range of reviewers to insure integrity, technical authenticity and even compliance adherence. Additionally the ability to create a sound file based on the contents of the narration field in the 360 suite of products would be extremely useful.

I'm fairly new to the intricacies of Articulate 360 but it does appear that audio narration is almost an afterthought and that's sad really. Also a great enhancement would be a telepromptr style feature so that as the individual is recording the script they can read at a natural rate of progression. Although web-based telepromptr tools do exist - the lack of one in Articulate Storyline, Engage, Quizmaker, Rise, Peek and so on is noticeable.

Thus I'm asking that an Articulate champion please review this discussion item and submit a product enhancement for narration functionality overall. 

I just submitted a case whereby the Word document creates xml in the narration section of the Articulate document in Engage 360 character interactions. That's quite sad because the Word output feature is the only way right now to send narration for review and Subject Matter Experts probably don't like having to go through that gobbledygook. 

4 Replies
Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Kevin,

Interesting question and ideas on what you'd like to see. I know that Text to speech was a popular feature for folks who wanted notes and audio to be available to learners throughout the course but I'd love to understand your needs a bit further.

For a teleprompter style notes view - would that sync with the audio? Where would that display for the learner?