Can we track progress in Rise or Articulate 360 from a web link

Feb 26, 2018

Hello!

I am new to this and trying to wrap my head around the best way to develop a course. I do not have an LMS, however I could host the web link from a server. Will my course have any tracking features in this and will the learner be able to pick up where they left off--or is it the same as sending them a link to open the course. Thanks for you help!

Heather

10 Replies
Alyssa Gomez

That's a great question, Heather!

When you publish your Rise course for Web-only, learners' progress won't be saved. If they launch your course more than once, their progress will be reset to 0% and they'll be taken back to the beginning of the course. 

The same thing happens if you host the course on Articulate Review. Here's a sample if you'd like to test it!

If you want learners to be able to resume where they left off, you'll need to export your Rise course as an LMS package. I know you mentioned you're not using a LMS, so hopefully the community can share alternative ideas with you!

Doug Miller

Hello Alyssa and Heather,

I also need information on publishing Rise content without an LMS but with progress tracking.

I have StoryLine content working from web links with tracking in our LRS but our authors are switching to Rise which generates a different file structure.

When I export from Rise in xAPI / TinCan format there are no HTML files to point to like there are in StoryLine.

If I upload the package to SCORM Cloud, the module launches fine and the URL contains "...Test_Rise_xAPI/0/index.html?actor=...". 

So, what files are getting generated by the LMS and from what data?

I've been searching but haven't found anything that documents this.  Can you point me to the right place to search?

Thanks,

Doug

Ashley Terwilliger-Pollard

Hi Doug,