'Consolidation' of three courses and subsequent LMS tracking

Jul 25, 2019

I have a client for whom I've created three Rise courses to be imported into their LMS. So far, so simple. However, we've received feedback that they would now like the three to be 'consolidated' into a single Rise course, to then be imported into the LMS.

Because of the architecture/general logic of the courses, I'm not hugely keen on the consolidation, and have a query from a colleague relating to a potential alternative; that is:

'..having a 4th Rise site to hold the URLs for these three other courses. is [this] achievable? The issue to consider is how it would track in the LMS. Will it track as complete if someone does all 3 courses? What happens someone only does one? They want the user to access every page and use that as their means of tracking.'

I suspect this isn't an alternative, but just wanted to ask here before proceeding as I'm still fairly new to Rise... Thanks!

7 Replies
Alyssa Gomez

Hey Matthew!

Your colleague is correct – hyperlinking the three courses into a fourth course could work, as long as you don't need to track anything within the three courses. For example, you won't be able to track whether the learner viewed all the lessons or what score they received on the quiz.

As an alternative, could you copy all lessons from all three courses into the fourth course? The copy lessons feature makes this a quick and easy process. And since you'll have a large number of lessons in one course, you can keep the lesson outline organized by using section headers

Danielle Wallace