How can I add an LMS.Commit/Commit Event when a custom LMS doesn't bookmark with suspend_data call

Aug 05, 2020

I have a course built in Rise with an added graded final assessment in Storyline learners must pass, exported in Scorm 2004, v.4, tracking using Course completion - 100%.  The custom LMS tracks bookmarking via LMS/Commit/Commit events, and is not reading/receiving the suspend_data event that the Rise Scorm package uses.  Thus, when learners exit the course without clicking the page Exit button, or they lose network connection, they must restart the course from the beginning rather than the LMS knowing where they left off.  

Is there a way I can go into the coding of the package zip files to make the change for the course to send an LMSCommit/Commit event when they press the Continue button we have at the bottom of each page so the bookmarking communicates as needed with the LMS?

I'm not a developer, but I do build courses and can follow instructions. If anyone has helpful instructions or where to suggest researching, that would be most appreciated.

5 Replies
Alyssa Gomez

Hi Kristen! 

Are you noticing this problem is happening in Chrome and Edge?

If so, we've also seen that courses exited by closing the browser window in Chrome 83 or Edge are not showing as complete or resuming as expected.

Here are some details on the Chrome 83/Edge behavior:
Chrome has deprecated a technology that was used by many LMSs to allow a course to communicate back to the LMS when the course window is closed (as opposed to using the Exit Course button).

If your LMS hasn't upgraded their system, or if you're using an older version of your LMS that doesn't include an update to address this change, the course cannot communicate progress or completion properly. This causes learners to start over from the beginning instead of resuming a course or recording completion after they close the browser window.