My Rise Wish List

Oct 17, 2017

The following is my wish list for Rise! Having used it extensively over the past few months, I still love many of the features, flow, appearance...but I am also frustrated with Rise and Articulate. The following wish list items were developed as I was working on a project and include both fixes and new features, but are NOT in priority order (no time!). Note: Some of the items listed below may have been addressed since I started keeping my running wish list - I removed/modified some but may have missed a few.

Since we cannot see what is actually on Articulate's project plan list and timeline and only get occasional "clues" in staff posts about when we might see changes, user priorities do not seem to match up. As a former programmer, I do understand some requests are simple and some are very difficult, but some of the basic limitations (i.e., lack of real formatted bullets and ability to move blocks and groups of blocks between lessons and courses) are so severe and WASTE SO MUCH TIME it is often difficult to justify using Rise. Many of the fixes listed below are simple (and honestly should have been caught in QA before Rise was first released). With a hosted environment, simple fixes should be developed, tested, and deployed quickly.

I strongly encourage Articulate to publish a list of planned fixes and timelines and create a better system to allow users to provide feedback on USER priorities. Until that happens, I would encourage users who agree with my suggestions to post their support/+1 for the items below! I recommend using letter/number (e.g., A. 5) format to reference each specific item below. Or propose other additions/fixes in this discussion or directly to Articulate (don't be shy!).

A. COURSE SETTINGS

1. ADD: Ability to set alternate author and photo (as most course content created by a subject matter expert and implemented by the Rise user).