Videos are not playing in Rise

Feb 20, 2018

I created a Rise course with Replay videos and they play fine for me but when I share the link with others they "The media could not be loaded, either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported".  The network did not fail.  This is my first attempt at creating a Rise course, I found it very easy but now people cannot watch it!

I have to use Google Chrome to develop my course because the videos take forever to upload if I use IE 11.

https://rise.articulate.com/share/cf6YhUDHgUodOeapj49BpR9y4u2cdHMI

33 Replies
Alyssa Gomez

Hey Trish, thanks for including the Share link!

The videos played beautifully for me--sorry to hear other folks are having a tough time with them!

Do you happen to know if they were using a desktop or mobile device to view your content? Also, do you know what web browser they were using?

Any details you can offer would be helpful!

Danielle Podesta

Hello, same issue for my course where I inserted an mp4 video. One of our employees received the same error message as Trish had when trying to play the video in Internet Explorer.  It worked fine for them in Chrome but would not play in I.E.  Both play fine for me. Any suggestions, or feedback as to why this is happening would be appreciated. Thanks!

Leslie McKerchie

Hello Matthew and welcome to E-Learning Heroes :)

Thanks for reaching out and letting us know that you ran into a similar issue. We do not have a standard listing of settings to share, but as Alyssa shared above we'd be happy to take a look if needed.

Are there particular items that are not displaying for some of the learners? I assume you are unable to replicate, similar to what Danielle shared above.

Matthew Elston

Correct - I'm unable to replicate on my end. So far, our testing has shown that some (not all) of our Dealer locations are unable to view .mp4 or .wmv files that have been uploaded into our test course (which is hosted on our LMS).