If the same learner launches your course more than once, the Resume feature in Storyline determines how the course behaves on subsequent visits.

  • You can start the course fresh every time,
  • Or, you can automatically place learners where they were the last time they visited the course,
  • Or, you can display a prompt that allows the learner to choose.

The resume behavior is part of the player you apply to your course. To customize the resume behavior, you'll need to open the Player Properties window. First, click the Home tab on the Storyline ribbon, and then click Player

When the Player Properties window appears, click Other.

Find the Resume section of the window, and set your preference by using the On story restart selector:

  • Always: This causes your course to automatically open at the place where the learner left off last time. Users won't see a prompt; the resume just happens automatically.
  • Never: This causes your course to always open at the beginning of the course, regardless of whether the learner already completed part of the course previously. Users won't see a prompt.
  • Prompt: If the learner previously viewed any slides beyond the initial slide, this option causes the course to display a prompt, asking the learner if they want to pick up where they left off. The prompt will look something like this:

If you choose Always or Prompt, and if you'll be hosting your content in an LMS, do one of the following:

  • If your LMS supports bookmarking, mark the box labeled When running in LMS, ignore Flash cookie. The LMS will control resume behavior in this scenario.
  • If your LMS does not support bookmarking, uncheck When running in LMS, ignore Flash cookie. The Flash cookie will control resume behavior in this scenario.

Changing the Wording on the Resume Prompt

If you've enabled a resume prompt and you want to customize what it says, that's easy to change. The text comes from your player's Text Labels, which you can customize from the Player Properties window. If you need help editing the text labels, check out this tutorial.

Saving Your Changes to the Player

If you click OK on the Player Properties window and then save your project by clicking the Save button above the Storyline ribbon, Storyline saves your player customizations within your project. It's a good practice, though, to save your player separately, because this allows you to apply the same player customizations to other projects if you like.

To save your player, click the Current Player button on the Player Properties window and choose Save. Enter a name for the player if you're prompted, and click OK.

For more details about using the Current Player options, see the tutorial called Saving Your Player or Switching to a Different One