How I Get Things Done: Trina Rimmer

What’s your job title?

I’m lucky to have two fabulous jobs. I’m a community manager at Articulate—but I’m also Mom at the Rimmer Home for Wayward Youth and Dogs.

What title do you think really captures your roles and responsibilities?

I’m not big on titles or labels, but over the years I’ve jokingly referred to my job as being a learning alchemist turning leaden content into e-learning gold.

My preferred title is just a designer because it speaks to the essence of what I do without being over the heads of most people.

What devices do you love to use?

I’m in a long-term relationship with my coffeemaker, but my iPhone is tops on my list of favorite devices. I’m also smitten with my Nest thermostat.

What software tools do you love?

I started in e-learning using HTML with CSS and some javascript and then moved on to several proprietary authoring tools with complicated scripting languages. When I was introduced to Articulate software, it instantly became a personal favorite of mine because it made designing e-learning so much quicker and more accessible. When Articulate Storyline came out, I felt even more empowered as a designer because it scales with you as you grow your design and development skills.

I also love using my email client's snooze feature. The simple act of being able to schedule an email to appear when I’m ready to deal with it was like a task management epiphany. And my list wouldn’t be complete without Dropbox—which has saved my professional life on more than one occasion!

What's your workspace setup like?

I’m very fortunate to have a small home office. But because it’s small, my husband and I don’t have room for separate desks, so we repurposed our former dining room table into a large desk for two.

Trina