Add a pop up Calculator

Oct 17, 2013

Folks,

I was wondering if it may be possible to have a pop up working calculator in a storyline course. I built a working calculator as a .swf file and want to be able to call this calculator up in storyline.

For instance, I am creating a math course. Somewhere on the player there is a link titled "Calculator" clicking this would call up a floating calculator. OR in programing terms, call up a frame with a .swf file inside. My calculator expands and contracts depending on a user input so this frame would have to be variable on size if possible.

I know I could post the calculator file on a website and call up the HTML as a web object, but I then get a ridged frame and its messy from a file perspective.

Not holding my breath on this one but it would a nice touch.

11 Replies
Vaughan Martin

Phil,

You are awesome. I'm new to Storyline and wasn't sure how the layers worked on the SlideMaster. I wasn't aware that they needed to be toggled using a variable. With your suggestion, I have the calculator 99% working and I can think of about 2-3 more functions I can now do with this new knowledge on the SlideMaster Layers.

I say 99% working because the calculator is allowed to float, meaning the user can drag it around. The problem I now face is I can't have a dragable hotspot or button that readjusts the variable to off to turn off the calculator.

I have a little "x" in the corner but when I drag the calculator the "x" or button or hotspot doesn't move. I tried grouping the .SWF picture of the calculator, nothing works. My last resort is to redo the calculator to have the variable toggle in the SWF file. I don't really want to do that but...

Any suggestions?

Vaughan Martin

Phil,

Thanks for the suggestion. I tried adding the calculator to the normal state of the close "X". The calc still works in the exported slides but the pesky "X" still is locked to the slide and won't follow the calculator.