how to protect/sell courses made with rise?

Oct 10, 2017

We are considering making a range of courses to sell to the public.

We like RISE but don't know what is the best approach to selling the content and protecting it from abuse i.e. we need an LMS and a storefront to sell courses made in rise and uploaded to another service that enables us to sell the content online.

Anyone got experience with doing this and what vendors worked ie. which LMS and e-commerce providers?

17 Replies
Joe Mefford

I've spent lots of time researching this very topic. There are hundreds (yes, hundreds) of options. I want to offer my customers lifetime access to the classes. That eliminates many of the LMS companies; they charge a monthly fee per active user. 

I am a Shopify and Wordpress developer. I'm leaning toward using LearnDash which is a WP LMS. But I'd like more experienced users to suggest other options.

Jacqueline Low

I'm looking for the same thing. Specifically, setting up a website that offers Rise courses through a tiered subscription model. Tiered based on (i) number of users per subscriber (ranging from a single user to 50 users) and (ii) number of courses subscribed. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Samantha Cukier

I'm looking for the same thing. I've developed a number of courses in Rise and they will be hosted on Brightspace. We want to incorporate an e-commerce component so that we can sell the courses. I'm looking for less expensive third party e-commerce software to see what my options are. Brightspace offers e-commerce options, but with a pricey setup fee (similar to what Richard mentioned above). We'll be building our learner base and don't expect huge numbers and so a huge setup fee is not an option. Any suggestions for e-commerce software that could work with RISE courses on Brightspace LMS? Thanks!

Janet Robertson

Hi